Vegan and gluten-free version of Tahinopita made with chemical leavening
Type Cake
Place of origin Turkey
Region or state Konya
Cookbook: Tahinopita  Media: Tahinopita

Tahinopita (Turkish: Tahinli pide), is a Greek-Cypriot cake which contains no dairy, eggs, or oil and is therefore considered vegan, making it popular during lent. Variations on the recipe include quickbread versions with chemical leaveners (such as baking soda or baking powder), yeasted versions, and phyllo layer versions.

In Cyprus, where the word pita is a generic word for either bread, cake or pastry, tahinopitta refers to a sweet bread roll (see tahini bread roll).

Tahinli pide is the specialty of Konya, Turkey cuisine.

See also


    This article is issued from Wikipedia - version of the 8/3/2015. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.